top of page
  • Writer's pictureBatsy

Hungry Harvest


These are just some of the fruit and vegetables we got from Hungry Harvest, which is a unique produce delivery service. This may not be a surprise to some of you, but 1 in 5 fruits and vegetables go to waste for the dumbest of reasons 😰 like they are too big, or oddly shaped. Hungry Harvest tries to rescue that produce by making variety boxes that deliver right to your door. Each delivery assists in eliminating at least 10 pounds of food waste, not to mention all the resources that went into growing the produce. Seriously though, does the produce in the picture above look like bad food!? And this would have gone to waste if not for Hungry Harvest 😱


I did a video on YouTube with the full unboxing, and I'll be doing another video on YouTube with the second box, so make sure you subscribe to my YouTube and hit the little bell so you don't miss out on future videos. You know I believe in transparency between us, so I included my referral link throughout this post. If you use that link to sign up for Hungry Harvest, you can save $10 on your first order and help me save $10 on my next. Currently there is a waitlist (since so many people are signing up because of the pandemic) but it didn't take us that long to get off of the wait list after we signed up.


their boxes

We got the "Super Harvest" category which is preferred for 4-7 people. Above is a picture I got from their site that shows the different harvests they have. We got the standard Super Harvest since we are a house of 5 adults, which set us at $35 including delivery. I was a little worried that we wouldn't get enough, since we eat so many fruits and vegetables in this house. More on that later.


A bit more on Hungry Harvest: They started in 2014 and have been able to rescue 20 million pounds of food waste, eliminate 960 million gallons of water waste, reduced 5,880 cars-worth of GHG emissions, and provided 1.3 million pounds to hunger-solving groups. Considering it doesn't cost much more (if any at all) than buying these produce from the store, these are huge things this company is accomplishing! They are in some areas on the East Coast as of now: Detroit Metro Area, North Carolina, South Florida, Philadelphia and Surrounding Suburbs, Washington DC, Virginia, and Maryland. I assume they will add more areas as they grow, too.


This was the box it came in. If you want to see each fruit/vegetable as I pull it out of the box make sure you check that YouTube video! I'm going to focus on the process a bit more here and why Hungry Harvest is a great alternative to grocery shopping. The quality of the produce was amazing. It all was extremely fresh and tasty. I didn't mind the flaws and I don't think anyone else in the house is bothered by them either.



I think this would be a decent amount for the week for some of the veggies. However, we eat a lot of lettuce and onions in this house. After talking about it, we decided we might skip those and replace them in next box and just get large amounts of greens and onions at our usual grocery trips. The lime tasted just fine, and I usually like to pick ones with some light scarring since I've noticed they are more flavorful. The butter lettuce came with the root ball attached, which meant it lasted really well in the fridge and didn't wilt quickly. I also could have planted them if my backyard wasn't tiny and the ground was full of good soil instead of clay. I really need to have some spare pots and soil 🤔 But I digress...



The box came with a little booklet that is a produce storage guide and harvest tips. It is actually a really high quality booklet. The pictures in it are so pretty and artsy, you could probably leave it out on a coffee table. I don't know if they do this every box or just your first box, so I will update this next time I get a box. It'll sit next to the fridge for a handy future reference. I think this was a really nice touch to the box. It's also available on their website.


All in all, I think this was a good trial run. The box could have been better, but maybe we got produce we weren't the most excited about. I'm excited for the next box and I hope it outshines this one! It's expected with any variety box though, that some boxes will be better than others, and if this is average, that is still really good. From someone who hates grocery shopping, this might stay after the pandemic since it's so convenient. Have you gotten this box before? Are you hoping to try it? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below and don't forget to check out the unboxing video on YouTube!


Love,

Batsy 🦇💗

1 view0 comments
bottom of page