top of page
  • Writer's pictureBatsy

July IPSY "Take A Break" 2020 Glam Bag Subscription Review



This bag is all about the staycation and I'm here for it! I was so ready for this to come in the mail and I'm so happy I snagged these add-ons too! I did purchase this myself but there are referral codes below on some of the products and on the IPSY subscription itself.


For those new to IPSY:

You have the option at the end of every month to pick an item out of a small selection for your next bag. The rest of your items are curated from that pick.

Usually on the 2nd of the month, you can see a preview of your bag and a list of add-on items that range from $3 for a deluxe sized product to $18 for a full sized product. Your bag is then assembled and shipped out the next week. You'll receive an email with a tracking code. I usually receive mine about halfway through the month.

The base Glam Bag is $10 per month for 5 deluxe and full sized products with a small bag. Glam Bag Plus is $25 for 5 full sized products every month and a larger bag, and Glam Bag Ultimate is $50 for 12 beauty products every month and has an even larger bag. Shipping within the US is free. I have only tried the base Glam Bag, but I am hoping to try the other two eventually.



Bellapierre Cosmetics Banana Setting Powder in Medium which is a full sized product at 4g and cost $35 by itself, so right off the bat this IPSY is "worth" it. It also comes in the shade original which looks a little lighter. It says it is a color correcting powder which minimizes pores and is great for baking and can even be used as a base eyeshadow. D loves banana powder, so I am excited to try this one out. Just from my first impression, it seems to blend really well. My skin tone is kind of... olive-y? I don't know, but I am interested to see whether this makes me look green or non-green. 💚



Raw Sugar Living Natural Lip Balm in Raw Coconut + Mango which is almost a full sized product and looks like you can buy it from Target as well as a few other places and it comes with a lip scrub for $4.99. I love the packaging. It feels very sturdy with being unwieldy. The scent reminds me of an almond joy with a hint of mango. The formula isn't to oily or too thick. A really nice middle consistency. I'm not sure how it will hold up to winter dryness, but I will definitely update with any news! I'm always ready for a solid lip balm and this is gearing up to be one.

Pixi by Petra LipLift Max in Honey Sheen I do have a referral code where you can get a $5 coupon on your purchase. This was my pick of the month, but I didn't expect it to be a lip plump! Regardless, I really like it! The shade is really nice and shimmery too. D actually uses this product, too. It's one of her go-tos when she is travelling or running out the door. It works really well as a lip gloss, too, if you are going for a more natural look (or if you are just too lazy to put on anything else 😅)



Ariul Fresh Herb Hand Cream which you can get from Amazon or CVS and it is a full sized product for $3.49. Packaging gets an A+! I love the cute squirrels and appreciate the fun design! D really liked the scent. It wasn't overly strong, which she kind of expected from the design on the packaging. She also really liked that it didn't leave an oily film on her hands.



Kensie Life Beat Eau de Parfum is not a full sized product, which is to be expected from a perfume. They do have a 10 mL sprayer in a different container for $18 as well as larger sizes. The scent is sweet and floral. Feels like a pretty standard wearable parfum. It's not groundbreaking, but it smells nice and is perfect for everyday wear. I do like the little travel sprayer a lot! It is actually a really good sprayer, surprisingly. You press the top expecting a little spritz, but instead you get... just give it a couple test sprays and see for yourself. D loves perfumes (she has a collection) so this is great. N made a really good point: it's kind of better to get this sample size product rather than a larger one. If you got a larger size of a perfume and then found out you didn't like it, what are you supposed to do? I mean, other than clean it up and give it as a gift 😉



My Add-Ons:

Duft&Doft Pink Milk Mask Set which is also available from Amazon for $10 for a 5 pack. I love my face masks so I chose this as an add on. It is a K-Beauty brand so I am really excited to give this a try.



Hempz Citriine Crystal and Quartz Body Lotion smells so YUM! If you've missed it before, I'm a huge fan of Hempz lotions. I feel like a little goes a loooong way and it has so much staying power. The travel size like this one is $7.99 for 2.25 fl oz and $19.99 for 17 fl oz. I like to put it on after a shower so it can really soak up into the pores. D has pretty dry skin and also has used Hempz lotions before. She agrees that they are super moisturizing, but she notes you have to be careful about how much you apply to avoid the oily feeling leftover on your skin. I also want to add this lotion is a little shimmery. I should have known from the name of the scent but 🤷‍♀️ just a heads-up.


Don't forget to pick your fav picture on this post and hit the little red "pin it" button in the corner of it to save it on Pinterest. Did you get a June Glam Bag, too? Tag me on Instagram @Love_batsy; I'd love to see it and hear your thoughts on the bag! I did unbox this on YouTube so go check it out if you want my first impressions.


If you are interested in trying IPSY for yourself, here's my referral link - going through this link rather than just Googling IPSY helps support this blog and all of my other posts.


Any other subscriptions you want me to try? Feel free to message me or comment it below, and if you haven't already, subscribe to this blog so you can stay up to date with posts! And keep an eye out for our review of the July Glam Bag!


Love,

Batsy 🦇💗

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page