top of page
  • Writer's pictureBatsy

April IPSY "Full Bloom" 2020 Glam Bag Subscription Review

IPSY decided to send this month's bag early because of COVID-19, so I received mine in the first week of the month.



For those new to IPSY:

You have the option at the end of every month to pick an item out of a small selection for your next bag. The rest of your items are curated from that pick. All of the options seemed good to me, but I chose the Glossier moisturizer since I was running out of my own moisturizer.

Usually on the 2nd of the month, you can see a preview of your bag and a list of add-on items that range from $3 for a deluxe sized product to $18 for a full sized product. Your bag is then assembled and shipped out the next week. You'll receive an email with a tracking code, which I usually receive mine about halfway through the month.

The base Glam Bag is $10 per month for 5 deluxe and full sized products with a small bag. Glam Bag Plus is $25 for 5 full sized products every month and a larger bag, and Glam Bag Ultimate is $50 for 12 beauty products every month and has an even larger bag. Shipping within the US is free. I have only tried the base Glam Bag, but I am hoping to try the other two eventually.


I did purchase this and all thoughts and opinions are my own, and if you are new to reading my IPSY reviews, I get 2 friends to help give me some thoughts on the products. One is D and the other is M.


The bag this month is a cute lilac and pink bag with a wooden zipper pull tab. It's a little different than usual, and for some reason I don't think the wooden pull tab meshes with the bag well. It's a little too boho for the modern, elegant design. On the other hand, I do like the adventurous decision to switch up the normal zipper.


This was my pick for the month, Glossier Priming Moisturizer Rich. It's a light formula that gives you dewy smooth skin. It's made with shea and murumuru butters...which I had to look up since I had no I idea what that is. It comes from a palm tree seed in the Amazon and is like shea butter and coconut oil in that it's very moisturizing, but it should clog pores less than them. It's good for adding moisture to your skin and hair, and they are looking into using it as cooking oil, which is interesting. The product smells very strongly of lavender, which was a big turn off for D and M. I felt that the scent dissipates after a few minutes and is worth dealing with for how good it feels. It retails for $35 for 50ml and we received a 15ml sample. I'm going to keep using it and see how it goes, but I am strongly considering buying more if I run out. It feels really soft on my skin.


Next, is this blending brush from Araceli Beauty. It's a dome shaped brush with a slightly tapered tip that makes it easy to apply, blend, and build. The bristles are synthetic ultra-soft nano fibers which are 100% vegan and cruelty free. The tip they sent was to use it to blend highlighter on your brow bones, nose, etc. It retails for $14 and I think this is a nice brush. M and D agree. It's nothing extra, but it is sleek and simple. The bristle color variation is something I don't see too often either which is nice.


I also received the Sugar Cosmetics Wingman Waterproof eyeliner in "I'll Be Black" which is another felt tip eyeliner. IPSY loves sending me these, and I'm not complaining since I use them so much! They are not D or M's cup of tea though. D did note that the very fine felt tip is great for hooded eyes for a change and wishes that more eyeliners were hooded eye friendly. This retails for $11.99.



This Christophe Robin purifying scrub uses exfoliating sea salt to help with flakes, buildup, and reside. Plus it has almond oil to nourish your scalp and strands. They recommend using a quarter sized scoop on your scalp, massage and lather then rinse and condition. This is a new hair care brand to the IPSY lineup, and I'm looking forward to more products from them. It retails for $53 for 250ml and this little sample is 40ml.



Lastly, this Helios nail polish in the shade "Livin' Lovely" is such a pretty light orchid shade. The applicator brush is more of a flat brush which makes for easy application. I did one coat and it's like a pretty neutral tone on me. They boast the gel-like finish last for up to 10 days. It retails for $12.50.


Overall, I think this Glambag was good, not great. I don't think there was anything outstanding that I could live without, but I do think that I was able to try a lot of things from brands I haven't used before. Will I rebuy any of these? Not sure, yet, although some are a possibility. Don't forget to pick your fav picture on this post and hit the little red "pin it" button in the corner of it to save it on Pinterest. Did you get a Glam Bag, too? Tag me on Instagram @Love_batsy, I'd love to see it and hear your thoughts on the bag!

If you are interested in trying IPSY for yourself, here's my referral link - going through this link rather than just Googling IPSY helps support this blog and all of my other posts.

Any other subscriptions you want me to try? Feel free to message me or comment it below, and if you haven't already, subscribe to this blog so you can stay up to date with posts! And keep an eye out for our review of the May Glam Bag!


Stay Safe with Love,

Batsy

24 views2 comments
bottom of page