top of page
  • Writer's pictureBatsy

Upcoming Fashion Trends for Winter 2019/2020

Updated: Jan 26, 2020

You can expect trends that popped up on runway to show up in stores later, but as always, I'm too excited to wait and am looking to dip my toe in the waters now and start trying these trends this winter season.


~ The 90's are still here to stay, but 70's are having a comeback. Vests, turtlenecks, and warm tones are staples in my winter closet, but since I have no corduroy, it's a must-buy when I go thrifting next. (I'm definitely not ignoring bell-bottoms because I want to live in blissful ignorance 😉)

Here is a 70's style chunky boot from ASOS that I have been absolutely loving that are perfect for adding a touch of the 70's to any outfit.





~ I'll admit, I kind of hate the color orange. Compared to all the other colors, it's kind of...meh. But the cold season really makes this color shine. Here is a dress from H&M I found that takes that warm orange and mixes it with a fun floral that brings a little bit of spring to the long winter. Long dresses are a must where I live; any additional protection from the biting winds is greatly appreciated.


~ Nothing holds up against wind like leather. Winter is a great time to bring out all the leather jackets and boots. I love classic, black boots, but leather jackets are an easy way to bring a pop of color to an otherwise monochrome outfit. My closet is nearly all-black all year round, so I'm thinking of trying maybe a rusty orange. Or a maroon or wine if I chicken out.

Or both. Both is good. Here is a cute skirt from ASOS in Rust and a faux leather jacket from Zara in Marsala that are on my wishlist this season.





~ ALL THE TEXTURES. Feathers, ruffles, tassels...I love them all. They're a great way to bring a touch of adventure to an outfit that is otherwise devoted solely to warmth. In my opinion, they also add a little sense of...coziness? Maybe that's just in my head. Did I mention that I love textures?

Left is a Shaggy knit trim denim jacket from Forever 21 and the right is a fringe wrap dress from Urban Outfitters. Definitely planning on copying both of these outfits. Ahh, textures 🧡




~ For some reason, winter coats tend to go out of style really quickly, and something that I've been trying to implement in my closet all-year-round is sustainable action. Rather than just buying a new coat from the department store, recycled or renewable clothes are a great way to refresh your closet while keeping textiles out of dumps. Shopping at thrift stores is a great way to do so, but I also want to break out my sewing machine do more upcycling this season. If you are looking to get rid of an old coat that is still in usable condition, consider donating it to a local shelter or organization.


If you try any of these trends, I would love to hear about it. Follow and tag me on Instagram @love_batsy so I can see your cool thrifting finds and upcycles!


Love,

Batsy

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page